SANDRA ALBUKREK-SEBBAN

Multi-disciplinary artist, author and illustrator, painter and sculptress
Founder and Director of the Atelier des Lutins since 2001
www.sandraalbukrek.com


image


Multi-disciplinary artist, author and illustrator, painter and sculptress, But I also sing in by spare time, I tell stories when I feel like it, and play percussion to liven things up!

How did it all begin?!!!

I was born in Istanbul, cradled by the waves of the green waters of the Bosporus, the cries of the seagulls of the Princes’ Islands, the sound of my father's violin and my mother's Italian songs.
I was a dreamy girl from a line of polyglot exiles. I went to an Italian kindergarten, Turkish primary school and then the French Lycée of Istanbul.
I always had a pencil, a paint brush or a book in my hand, and at 4 years old I discovered a passion for clay. Pictures, creation and tinkering were my favorite worlds to explore, and also singing, stories and dancing. Even as a child, I felt that I had to explore art in all of its forms, and I was convinced that artists should be able to express themselves in many different ways!

After receiving my baccalaureate, I left sweet Istanbul for majestic Paris. I was accepted at ENSAD (Paris Institute of Decorative Arts) where, over the course of five years, I explored drawing, painting, engraving, photography, sculpture, architecture, theories of color, music, esthetics and philosophy with joy and passion. I received a degree in stage design and I worked with several artistic groups including the Pina Bausch Company.

One day, a wonderful experience at an art class for children led me to (re)discover my complicity with the wonderful creative world of children.
In 2001 I founded the Atelier des Lutins (the Elves’ Workshop) in Paris, in the Butte aux Cailles, and I began to write and illustrate books for children. I moved to Geneva and opened a new Atelier des Lutins in Switzerland in 2010. Through this wonderful adventure of exchanges and creations, I met hundreds of children and their playful imaginations.

▼ read more ▲

Creativity is a joy when it flows freely, but sometimes the spring dries up…
I think it is essential to identify and to overcome the blocks that all children and adults encounter, and this is as true for me as for anyone else. In my accompaniment in creative workshops, by playing with words, lines and shapes, I transmit my tools for overcoming blocks. Everyone learns to take charge of their imagination and their creativity.
I have always been fascinated by the complexity of creativity: by its moments of explosive joy, its calming strength and the terrifying moments of feeling blocked. I wanted to immerse myself in the theory and intensive practice of creation. This led me to study expressive art therapy at the "L’ATELIER" Institute in Geneva. It was a remarkable experience during which I explored free painting, the art of puppets in conjunction with the inner world, clowning, free movement and dance, theatrical performances, psychodrama, vocal improvisation, the art of storytelling and meeting the worlds of other people.

Today I am a multi-disciplinary artist, author and illustrator. I open myself to the world of creation and let come to me whatever forms may emerge: paintings, sculptures, mobiles, writing, etc.
I am also an expressive art therapist. I lead personal development workshops for children and adults in my art therapy studio :
◉ studioARTherapie.

Invited artists at the Atelier

Sandra attaches great importance to exchanges and to the discovery of various aspects of the fine arts. To keep these exchanges fresh and lively, every year she invites experienced guest artists who are open to the world of children.


Lydia Sevette
puppeteer
puppet Maker
www.ladoryphore.carbonmade.com


Julie Auzillon
fine bookbinder
creator of bindings and artistic books
www.julieauzillon.com

Ariane Borra
visual artist
textile designer
www.ariane-borra.blogspot.com.tr


Sophie Mouton Perrat
visual artist
creator of papier mâché sculptures
www.papieraetres.com

Vinciane Demeure
former pupil of the Atelier des Lutins
designer specializing in Retail
www.vincianedemeure.fr


Aleksi Moine
former pupil of the Atelier des Lutins
researcher in Oral Literature
teacher at the Atelier as of 2011


Robert Kaddouch
teacher, concert Pianist
www.kaddouch-music.com


Marc Philippin
multimedia artist
painter - designer of the Lutins web site
www.kitchen-project.com

SANDRA ALBUKREK-SEBBAN

Artiste pluridisciplinaire, auteure et illustratrice, peintre et sculptrice
Créatrice et directrice de l’Atelier des Lutins depuis 2001
www.sandraalbukrek.com


image


Artiste pluridisciplinaire, auteure et illustratrice, peintre et sculptrice, Mais aussi je chante à mes heures perdues, je conte quand ça me chante, je percussionne quand il fait trop gris!

Et comment tout cela a commencé ?!!!

Je suis née à Istanbul bercée par les vagues de la mer verte du Bosphore, les cris de mouettes des îles aux princes, le son du violon de mon père et les chants italiens de ma mère.
Fille rêveuse d’une lignée d’exilés polyglottes, je vais en maternelle à l’école italienne, en primaire à l’école turque puis je termine mes études au Lycée français d’Istanbul.
Toujours un crayon, un pinceau, un livre à la main je découvre une passion pour la terre à 4 ans. L’univers des images, de la création et du bricolage ont été mon univers de prédilection, mais aussi celui du chant, des histoires et de la danse. Déjà enfant, il me fallait explorer les arts sous toutes leurs formes, convaincue qu’un artiste doit pouvoir s’exprimer dans plusieurs modalités!

Après mon baccalauréat, je quitte ma douce Istanbul pour la majestueuse Paris. J’y suis admise à l’ENSAD (Arts-Déco) où j’explore pendant cinq années, avec joie et passion le dessin, la peinture, la gravure, la photographie, la sculpture, l’architecture, les théories de la couleur, de la musique, l’esthétique et la philosophie. Diplômée en tant que scénographe j’ai travaillé avec plusieurs compagnies dont celle de Pina Bausch.

Un jour, une belle expérience dans un atelier d’art pour enfants m’a fait (re)découvrir ma complicité avec le merveilleux monde créatif des enfants. C’est ainsi qu‘en 2001 j’ai créé l’Atelier des Lutins à Paris, sur la Butte aux cailles, et j’ai commencé à écrire et à illustrer des livres pour enfants. Installée à Genève, un nouvel Atelier des Lutins est né en Suisse en 2010. Cette merveilleuse aventure d’échanges et de créations m’a fait rencontrer des centaines d’enfants et leur imaginaire espiègle.

▼ lire la suite ▲

La créativité est une joie lorsqu’elle coule de source mais il lui arrive souvent de se tarir…
Ces moments de blocages qui arrivent à tous les enfants et adultes sont pour moi essentiels à repérer et à débloquer aussi bien chez moi que chez les autres. Dans mon accompagnement en ateliers créatifs, par des jeux de mots, de traits et de taches, je transmets mes outils de déblocage. Ainsi chacun devient maître de son imaginaire et de sa créativité.
Fascinée depuis toujours par la complexité de la créativité : par ses moments d’explosion de joie en feu d’artifices, sa force apaisante et ses moments terrifiants de blocages, j’ai eu envie de me plonger dans la théorie et la pratique intensive de la création. C’est ainsi que je me suis aventurée dans des études d’art-thérapie expressive à l’Institut « L’ATELIER » à Genève. Une formidable expérience où j’ai exploré la peinture libre, l’art des marionnettes en lien avec le monde intérieur, le jeu naturel du clown, le mouvement et la danse libres, les performances théâtrales, le psychodrame, l’improvisation vocale, l’art du conte et de la rencontre de l’univers des autres.

Aujourd’hui artiste pluridisciplinaire, auteure et illustratrice, je me plonge dans le monde de la création pour y laisser venir les formes qui veulent bien surgir : peintures, sculptures, mobiles, écriture…
Egalement art-thérapeute expressive, je propose des ateliers de développement personnel pour enfants et adultes, dans mon atelier d’art-thérapie : ◉ studioARTherapie.

Artistes invités de l’Atelier

Sandra attache une grande importance à l’échange et à la découverte de différents aspects des arts plastiques. C’est pour rester dans la fraîcheur de l’échange qu’elle invite chaque année, à l’Atelier, des artistes expérimentés et ouverts au monde de l’enfant.


Lydia Sevette
marionnettiste
facteur de marionnettes
www.ladoryphore.carbonmade.com


Julie Auzillon
relieuse d'art
créatrice de reliures et des livres d'artiste
www.julieauzillon.com

Ariane Borra
Artiste plasticienne
Designer textile
www.ariane-borra.blogspot.com.tr


Sophie Mouton Perrat
artiste plasticienne
créatrice de sculptures en papier mâché
www.papieraetres.com

Vinciane Demeure
ancienne lutine
designer spécialisée dans le Retail
www.vincianedemeure.fr


Aleksi Moine
ancien lutin
chercheur en littérature orale
enseignant à l’atelier en 2011


Robert Kaddouch
pédagogue, pianiste concertiste
www.kaddouch-music.com


Marc Philippin
artiste multimédia
peintre - webdesigner du site des Lutins
www.kitchen-project.com