PHILOSOPHY

Creating books, paintings, stories, puppets and anything a child imagines.
An approach that harmoniously blends technical mastery and imagination

Creativity is a gift which must be cultivated.
It is innate in young children, but tends to fade away with the pressures of society which try to force us into a mold.

Sandra invites children for a journey of discovery through the magical world of the fine arts, visiting all of its materials and creating all sorts of objects (books, puppets, sculptures and whatever children may dream of) during which they explore of the richness of their inner landscapes.
The goal is not just to create an object, but rather to experience the whole creative process that leads to it.

Sandra Albukrek-Sebban's philosophy stems from her inexhaustible desire to sustain and stimulate the imagination and creativity of every child.
Her capacity to listen, her joyful presence, her playfulness and her generous transmission of her technical skills are precious and essential tools for cultivating children's creativity and allowing them to blossom and to feel confident exploring their imagination.

Respecting each child’s individual pace, with care and plenty of humor, she invites them to venture into the world of their imaginations. The creative experience they gain helps them to be happy and imaginative in whatever situations they encounter.

How can we discover and free the imagination?

Sandra's studio, founded in 2001, is a unique place, a cocoon sheltered from the hectic pace, competition and productivity of today’s world.
It is only by moving far away from predefined models, stereotypes and the judgments of others that the fragile imagination dares to show itself, to expand and to shine with all of its brilliance.
In this privileged environment, free from time limits and the constraints of our society, children discover their capacity to create. They gain confidence in their personal resources and feel free to use their imaginations.

Sandra is an author and illustrator, a graduate of ENSAD (Paris Institute of Decorative Arts), and a multi-disciplinary artist who accompanies each child individually within the group, with the assistance of various guest artists.
By playing with words, lines and shapes, Sandra awakens and opens up the imagination, dreaming, poetry and creative exchanges among the children.

Her fascination with the complexity of creativity led her to undertake expressive art therapy studies. Her research and practices in this field have given her precious tools to accompany budding young artists: understanding creativity, its moments of explosive fireworks, its calming strength and the times when things feel stuck.

Sandra Albukrek’s approach is unique: the art of combining technical mastery with the pleasure of the process – the freedom to imagine with the concentration needed to achieve – the joy of letting go and the patience to see things through to the end – the wonder of broad, free gestures and the attention to detail needed to put the finishing touches on each work.

A book presenting her unique method of creating books was published in 2007
Here are some excerpts from it

See the children’s artwork

PHILOSOPHIE

Créer des livres, des peintures, des histoires, des marionnettes et tout objet qu’un enfant imagine.
Une approche qui lie harmonieusement la maitrise technique et l’imagination.

La créativité est un don qui se cultive.
Elle est innée chez le petit enfant et tend à disparaître avec la pression de la société qui essaye sans cesse de nous mettre dans un moule.

C’est à travers un voyage merveilleux dans les matériaux magiques des arts plastiques et la création de toutes sortes d’objets (livres, marionnettes, sculptures et autres merveilles rêvées) que Sandra invite chaque enfant à prendre possession de la richesse de son monde intérieur.
Le but n’étant pas uniquement l’objet final mais le processus créatif qui y mène.

La philosophie de Sandra Albukrek prend sa source dans son désir intarissable de garder en vie l’imaginaire et la créativité de chaque enfant.
Son écoute profonde, sa présence joyeuse, son espièglerie et sa généreuse transmission de ses compétences techniques sont des outils précieux et indispensables pour cultiver et déployer la créativité de chacun, se sentir confiant et maître de son imaginaire.

Avec un respect du rythme de chacun, une bienveillance protectrice et beaucoup d’humour, elle propose à chaque enfant un plongeon dans son imaginaire. Ce bagage créatif ainsi acquis est un don, nécessaire pour être heureux et imaginatif quelque soit la situation abordée.

Comment découvrir et laisser vivre son imaginaire ?

L’atelier que Sandra a créé en 2001, est un lieu unique, un cocon à l’abri de la course quotidienne, de la compétition et de la productivité de notre monde actuel.
Ce n’est que loin des modèles prédéfinis, des stéréotypes et des jugements d’autrui que l’imaginaire, si fragile, ose se montrer, se déployer et briller de toutes ses forces.
C’est dans cet univers hors du temps et des carcans de notre société que chaque enfant découvre sa capacité à créer, prend confiance en ses ressources personnelles et devient maître de son imaginaire.

Sandra, auteure et illustratrice, diplômée de l’ENSAD (Arts-Déco, Paris), artiste pluridisciplinaire, accompagne chaque enfant individuellement dans le groupe, assistée par différents intervenants.
Par des jeux de mots, de traits et de taches, Sandra éveille et ouvre l’imaginaire, la rêverie, la poésie et l’échange créatif parmi les enfants.

Sa fascination pour la complexité de la créativité l’a menée à faire des études d’art-thérapie expressive. Ses recherches et sa pratique dans ce domaine lui donne des outils précieux pour accompagner les petits artistes en herbe : comprendre la créativité, ses moments d’explosion en feu d’artifices, sa force apaisante et ses moments secs de blocages.

L’approche unique de Sandra Albukrek a l’art de lier l’exigence de la maîtrise technique au plaisir du processus – la liberté d’imaginer à la concentration pour réaliser – la joie de se laisser aller à la patience d’aller jusqu’au bout – l’enchantement des grands gestes à la capacité de minutie pour réaliser les finitions de chaque œuvre.

Sa méthode unique de création de livres a été éditée en 2007.
En voici quelques extraits.

Voir les œuvres des enfants